Lean and Green

20% reduction of CO2 emissions

L.I.T. Speditions GmbH’s ambitious environmental goal: 20% reduction of CO2 emissions within 5 years

L.I.T. Speditions GmbH became aware of the initiative “Lean and Green” at a convention hosted by a key client.

“Lean and Green” is an environmental initiative with the goal of sustainably reducing its partners’ CO2 emissions. This ambitious goal is simple and defined in memorable terms: Within 5 years, the participating companies should reduce their CO2 emissions by at least 20%. L.I.T. Speditions Gmbh has now taken on this task in cooperation with L.I.T. Cargo GmbH.

“Lean and Green” originated in the Netherlands and has been present in Germany since 2013. In Germany, the program is run by GS1 Germany. “Lean and Green” is making its start in Germany with 19 trail-blazing partners. L.I.T.’s management board was particularly impressed with “Lean and Green’s” approach, which always combines ecological benefits with business advantages. The only thing that counts are reductions that companies have actually achieved; compensation through financial support of other environmental projects (often called “modern indulgence traffic” or “moderner Ablasshandel” in the German press) isn’t possible.

In July 2015, L.I.T. Speditions GmbH signed the agreement with GS1, making it part of the “Lean and Green” network. In the context of this network, the partners exchange information about the measures taken and the goals achieved in order to join together in the struggle against CO2 emissions.

The measures and goals will be described in an action plan created by L.I.T. Speditions GmbH in order to achieve the ambitious goal of reducing CO2emissions by at least 20% within 5 years. A monitoring system will be put in place in order to supervise the planned measures and calculate the CO2 reductions.

After submitting the action pan to GS1, TÜV Nord will carry out an external audit to evaluate whether the measures described in the plan can achieve the reduction of CO2 emissions. If the action plan passes this test, L.I.T. Speditions GmbH will be recognised with the “Lean & Green Award”. This award honours a high level of commitment and the first steps on the path toward the goal.  From this point on, L.I.T. Speditions GmbH will report at least twice a year to GS1 on the current progress of the action plan.

Lean and Green

20 % Einsparung der CO2-Emissionen

Ehrgeiziges Umweltziel der L.I.T. Speditions GmbH: 20 % Einsparung der CO2-Emissionen  innerhalb von 5 Jahren

Auf der Convention eines Großkunden wurde die L.I.T. Spedition auf die Initiative „Lean and Green“ aufmerksam.

„Lean and Green“ ist eine Umwelt-Initiative mit dem Ziel, die CO2-Emissionen der Partner nachhaltig zu verringern. Dabei ist das ehrgeizige Ziel schlicht und damit sehr einprägsam definiert: Innerhalb von 5 Jahren sollen die CO2-Emissionen der teilnehmenden Unternehmen um mindestens 20 % reduziert werden. Dieser Aufgabe stellt sich nun auch die L.I.T. Speditions GmbH in Zusammenarbeit mit der L.I.T. Cargo GmbH.

„Lean and Green“ kommt ursprünglich aus den Niederlanden und ist erst seit 2013 auch in Deutschland zu finden. In Deutschland wird dieses Programm von GS1 Germany durchgeführt. Gestartet ist „Lean and Green“ in Deutschland mit 19 Vorreitern. Besonders der Ansatz von „Lean and Green“, dass ökologische Vorteile immer mit wirtschaftlichen Vorteilen einhergehen, überzeugte dabei die Geschäftsführung L.I.T.s. Es zählen nur tatsächlich erzielte Einsparungen, eine Kompensation durch die finanzielle Unterstützung anderer Umweltprojekte (in der Presse auch gerne als „moderner Ablasshandel“ bezeichnet) ist hier nicht möglich.

Im Juli 2015 unterzeichnete die L.I.T. Speditions GmbH den Vertrag mit GS1 und gehört somit zu dem „Lean and Green“-Netzwerk. Im Rahmen des Netzwerks tauschen sich die Partner über die getroffenen Maßnahmen und erreichten Ziele aus, um sich somit gemeinsam dem Kampf gegen die CO2-Emissionen zu stellen.

In einem Aktionsplan werden die Maßnahmen und Einzelziele beschrieben, die die L.I.T. Speditions GmbH plant, um dieses ehrgeizige Ziel der CO2-Reduktion um mindestens 20 % innerhalb von 5 Jahren zu erreichen. Durch die Einführung eines entsprechenden Monitorings werden die Umsetzung der geplanten Maßnahmen überwacht und die eingesparten CO2-Emissionen berechnet.

Nach Abgabe des Aktionsplanes an GS1 wird in einem externen Audit durch den TÜV Nord bewertet, ob die Reduktion der CO2-Emissionen durch die im Aktionsplan beschriebenen Maßnahmen erreicht werden kann. Besteht der Aktionsplan diese Prüfung, wird die L.I.T. Spedition mit dem „Lean & Green Award“ ausgezeichnet. Der Lean and Green Award würdigt das hohe Engagement und den ersten großen Schritt auf dem Weg zum Ziel.  Ab diesem Zeitpunkt wird die L.I.T. Speditions GmbH mindestens halbjährlich den aktuellen Stand der Umsetzung des Aktionsplanes an GS1 melden.